Tags

, , , , , ,

Today, I think it’s time for a change of pace~as temperatures drop & central heat clicks on for homes across the nation, it seems the perfect time to indulge, pamper yourself, and take some time to enjoy the season before holiday frenzy sets in. To help with that goal, I’m pleased to welcome Demzy Gueits, author of the blog: J’adore La Dolce Vita–where leading the sweet life is not only an art, it’s also accessible.

Please tell us about your blog: J’adore La Dolce Vita is a beauty, lifestyle, and empowerment blog. It was created with the vision of presenting to women the true meaning of beauty. That beauty is multidimensional and cannot be confined to only the superficial which is a focus on external beauty alone. In my blog you’ll find plenty of beauty secrets, tips, and tricks, but I also write about lifestyle advice and how to improve other dimensions of your life beyond external beauty. When creating it, I decided I would use some of the knowledge I have gained from being a Psychology major in college to teach women how to be assertive, enjoy life, and be empowered to be themselves in their most genuine state–to edify them to be who they were born to be.

Demzy Gueits J'adore La Dolce Vita Blog

What inspired you to create J’adore La Dolce Vita? Writing has always been a hobby of mine and I was frequently praised by teachers and professors throughout my school years about my writing, so it became something I believed to be my talent. So when I started to see a pattern of friends coming to me asking me for advice on beauty and even on things like how attract a man, it dawned on me that I could create a blog to empower women and share my advice to the masses.

Is there an underlying message in your blog you’d like readers to grasp? Yes, since my blog is targeted to women, the underlying message I’d like my readers to grasp is that a beautiful woman is in us all and what it takes to get the world to notice her will take more than just enhancing your features with makeup and other cosmetics, but also by growing your talents, your spirit, and that one of a kind charm that is your inner beauty. I hope to guide some of that growth through my blog posts that feature inner and outer beauty and lifestyle advice.

If you were creating an emergency makeup kit, but were limited to only 5 items, which ones would you choose & why? In the kit I would put a hydrating rosy colored lip gloss for gorgeous lips any time of day, a pressed powder to mattify any excess oils on the skin, a lash curler to turn limp lashes into voluptuous ones, a black mascara because it awakens the appearance of the eyes, and a peachy pink blush since it can really enliven the face!

If you could write a companion or update piece to your hilarious (and somewhat infamous) “The Ten Commandments on How to Keep a Guy”, what would it be? Good question! It would probably be titled “The Ten Commandments on How to Attract A Man.”

What are some of your favorite brands, and favorite resources for beauty products? Some of my favorite brands are Tarte, Lancome, and Korres. My favorite resources that influence my purchases on beauty products are the consumer reviews on sephora.com, beauty.com, and ulta.com.

How do you find ways to practice “The Sweet Life” in your own life? Pampering myself when I have free time, doing what I love and doing it often, and relishing the sweet moments life can bring by savoring any blessing I have and realizing there’s much to be grateful for.

What are some of your favorite tips from your blog? Rinsing conditioner off your hair when in the shower with cold water to boost shine, and working with excellence and all your passion and might to get promoted at work.

What’s something that not many people know about you? I love to cook and experiment with it by updating the flavors of meals. I try to change things on every plate I create for my family, kind of like an artist does when painting on a new canvas.

If you could have a single day to pamper yourself however you wanted, what would you do? I would spend hours at a spa getting a massage and I’d end the day by going home, lighting candles, and taking a hot bath as I read a compelling new book.

Are there any TV series or Movies where you particularly loved the look achieved by make-up artists? I still remember the look of Naomi Watts in the movie King Kong. Her natural beauty was emphasized with such subtlety, it captivated you. She looked ethereal, breathtaking, and simply unforgettable.

How do you express your own personal sense of style? I don’t let rules define my style but I lean more towards a classic style and express my individuality through little touches of my mood’s inspirations. I also dare myself to try new things.

When not writing J’adore La Dolce Vita, what do you like to do? I enjoy reading magazines, making my toddler daughters laugh, and being outdoors, especially near the ocean.

Where can readers connect with you?

They can follow me on Twitter: @JadoreLaDolceV
on Facebook: http://www.facebook.com/jadoreladolcevita
or through the contact form on my website: http://www.jadoreladolcevita.com

