Tags

, , , , , , ,

Please welcome Elise Marion, a fellow historical romance author, movie hound, and Food Network fan. Marion is also an army wife, and mother of two who miraculously still finds time to write. Her debut novel The Third Son is a captivating, heart-warming tale that’s been receiving rave reviews on Amazon.

Please tell us about your book, and where it can be found: The Third Son is a historical romance about a young prince named Damien. The youngest of three brothers, he is not taken very seriously. His older two brothers (one of which will inherit the throne) both have had their lives planned out for them. But Damien is pretty much left up to his own devices and spends his time however he pleases. When it becomes clear that someone is out to kill members of the royal family, one person at a time, Damien is faced with the prospect of becoming king. If he does so, he may have to give up the woman he loves. In the end it all boils down to the choice between duty and love, responsibility and following one’s heart.

A Video Trailer for Elise Marion’s The Third Son

The Third Son can be found at:

Do you have plans for another story? I am currently working on two projects at the moment. The first is the sequel to The Third Son, called The Second Son, due to be released January 2012. I am very excited about this project because originally The Third Son was only supposed to be a single title. As I started writing, the character development of some of my secondary characters practically begged me to make this a series. There will be four books in all. My other project is a short novella called Fallen. It is about an angel who’s job it is to perform miracles. It is a love story between him and the woman he is assigned to. This project I hope to have available in November.

What inspires you to write, and when did you start? I started writing when I was only about 12 years old. I had always been an avid reader, the kind of kid who would rather read than watch TV. I sat at the little desk in my room with a stack of notebook paper and a pencil and wrote a short novel called Tiffany’s Dream about a girl who wanted to be an Olympic ice skater. I can remember my dad giving me a stopwatch, and I would time myself to see how long I could write without stopping. I’ve been writing ever since. I started writing poetry in high school and started toying with the idea of writing romance because it has always been my favorite genre. I am not simply inspired to write; I write because I have to. It is such a part of who I am.

What part of writing The Third Son did you find the most challenging? Well, I knew from the beginning the direction of the story. There were certain plot points that I knew for certain I wanted to include. The hard part was weaving those plot points together in a way that created a gripping story. To me, writing is like choreography. You have the dancers, the costumes, the music; It’s up to you to create something that flows and tells a story. Something else that was hard for me was finding the time to write. I am an army wife and mother of two. My husband is gone a lot and deployed every other year. I try to write daily but it isn’t always easy.

What do you enjoy most about writing? I love writing for the same reason I love reading: the escape into other worlds. I love the idea of removing yourself to another time and place through the written word.

What do you like to read? I mostly like to read historical romance, though I do like a little contemporary and paranormal as well. But to me there is something about the men of historical romance that is so very appealing; I truly enjoy reading and writing about them.

Which character in your book do you identify with the most, and why? I identify with my heroine, Esmeralda the most. She’s a strong woman, one who has been through a lot yet finds the strength to open her heart to love. She is also the kind of person that people get the wrong impression about. People see her for her beauty and take it at face value without getting to know what really lies underneath.

When not reading or writing what do you like to do for fun? I love to cook, so I watch a lot of Food Network and experiment with new recipes. I also love movies. I have an extensive collection, and am always excited about the next big film coming out. I have been singing since I was a child and sing in my church choir every week.

When did you know you were a writer? Probably around the time I was 12. As I said before, that year I wrote my first book and have been writing every since.What was the first romance book that you can remember reading? I don’t remember which exact title but I can remember that it was a Danielle Steele book. She was the first romance writer I fell in love with.

What would be your ideal writer’s retreat? Somewhere quiet near the ocean where I can be alone with my characters. I have to write when I can, between feeding, washing, cleaning, and all those other housewife-ly duties I’m buried under. It’s often hard to concentrate with a four year old running around and a four month old crying. It would be so nice to be in a place where I can hear the waves and smell the salty air and just completely dive into whatever project I’m working on. Hey, a girl can dream right?

What’s something not many people know about you? Most people that know me have no idea how emotional I am. I tend to put my best face forward and present this sort of witty, composed woman. Underneath all that I’m really just a big sap. I cry every time I watch Titanic even though I’ve seen it one million times and know what’s going to happen. I guess that’s part of what makes me who I am and I think it enhances me as a writer as well.

Where can readers connect with you? www.facebook.com/elisemarion86

Thank you Elise :)

