Tags

, , , , , ,

Things are pretty dire in my neck of the woods, & I’ll be the first to admit I’ve been a bit distracted recently. Family complications have arisen, my mom, sister, and I will all be banding together for a mini-road trip this weekend to see my Grandparents. My grandfather just got out of the hospital; this was his 3rd committal in less than a month.

He’s struggling with some critical health issues, and just when it seems like he’s won one battle, another pops up in it’s place. I’m not sure how much fight he’s got left…and I don’t know if it will be enough to see him through. The family’s been pulling rotating visits to go out and lend support since my grandparents are understandably not up to receiving visitors en masse. Less than 3 weeks ago,  my grandfather was in ICU. Aunts, uncles, cousins, grandkids, siblings…4 generations have been steadily conducting a changing of the guard by his side, and now it’s our turn again. It’s so hard to see him fading away with each visit, to see the strain on my grandmother’s face as she watches the man she loves go into decline…to know that no matter how hard we try to lend support, cheer him up, encourage him to go on…he might not. We might lose him.

