Tags

, , , , ,

I’m pleased to feature the very first author interview I’ve ever conducted, and I couldn’t be more happy with the subject.  Please welcome Sarah Williams, an independent author who’s debut novel “Captive” is a unique twist on thrillers.

Author Bio:

Sarah Williams is an author and freelance writer.  Born in Salisbury, England, Sarah moved to Australia in 2008 and now lives in the Illawarra with her boyfriend and ever growing collection of plants.  Sarah enjoys good food and wine, gardening, yoga, reading and films.

Links:
http://www.amazon.com/Captive-ebook/dp/B005ITYF2W/ref=sr_1_1?s=digital-text&ie=UTF8&qid=1316922889&sr=1-1
http://twitter.com/#!/wordsbywilliams
http://www.facebook.com/pages/Sarah-Williams/272696322756528?ref=pb
http://www.wordsbywilliams.blogspot.com/
http://www.goodreads.com/author/show/5164274.Sarah_Williams

Tell us a bit about your book and where it’s available.

“Captive” is a thriller with a supernatural twist.  I purposefully avoid going into too much detail about my book as I feel it gives too much of the story away.  The tale begins with a young woman who awakes in a hotel room that she has no memory of falling asleep in.  She is alone, scared and inexplicably afraid of the dark.

“Captive” is available in e-book format via Amazon and Smashwords.

What was the inspiration for your book?

The idea for “Captive” literally came out of nowhere.  The idea just popped into my head one day and it just grew from there.

Who would provide the soundtrack to your book?

I think an album by Muse would fit quite nicely with my book.

Which character in your book do you identify with the most? Why?

 I think there’s a little bit of me in a few of the characters in this book but I probably identify most with Lux as she shares a number of my traits.

Do you have any other books currently available?

Not at this stage, though the sequel to “Captive” is currently in the works.

What will you be working on next?

The sequel to “Captive” is currently my main focus however I’m also playing with a few ideas surrounding a comedy.  I’ve never written in this genre before so it will be a new challenge for me.

When you’re not writing, what do you like to do?

I’m a huge film fan and love going to the cinema or snuggling up on the sofa to watch DVDs.  I’m also an avid reader and like nothing more than a good book, a hot bath and a glass of wine.

What do you enjoy most about being a writer?

I love the escapism when you lose yourself in a world entirely of your own making.  Sitting down and realising you’ve knocked out several chapters – several good chapters – is a very satisfying feeling.

What do you find hardest about being a writer?

As a self published author I find the marketing and self-promotion really difficult.  It takes up a lot of my time.

What do you enjoy reading?  Who is your favourite author?

I enjoy a range of books but particularly like thrillers, horror and historical fiction.  I’m a big fan of Dean Koontz, Carol Goodman and Sarah Rayne.

What would be your ideal writer’s haven for creating your novel?  

Somewhere with as few distractions as possible!  I could imagine myself tucked away in a quiet nook of an old library with a massive desk and a big comfortable chair.

What’s something not many people know about you?

That I wrote, directed and starred in my very own film…when I was about ten.  But still, it was an achievement at the time.  I was also an extra in the King Arthur film and you can see me – dirty looking peasant – for about five seconds at the end.

