Heartbreaker (Buchanan, #1)Heartbreaker by Julie Garwood

My rating: 4 of 5 stars

Heartbreaker is one of Julie Garwood’s 1st contemporary romances that I’ve read, and it looks like she’s made a successful transition between sub-genres. The heroine is still charming and sweet, the hero is still gruff and something of a loner, and both characters are engaging and well-crafted—I wanted them to reach their happily ever after, I cared about what happened to them, and I was relieved when their story came to a happy conclusion. Despite that…I felt there was something missing.

The villain of the piece was rather lackluster, and so was the chemistry between the two leads. I never really felt a sense of urgency when reading this book, it never reached a point where I couldn’t put it down…it was missing that indescribable X-factor that elevates a good read into one that’s unforgettable. I’d definitely recommend it; I just wish that certain story elements had been pushed a little further.

View all my reviews

