It’s been an eventful 48hrs, nearly 24 of which were spent in airports. My freshly minted resolution to attempt writing a minimum of 1,000 words a day is 2 days in arears, but I have a good excuse.

I moved cross country.

Something came up with family, and luckily I was in a position to haul up stakes. However, my PC is in 5 pieces, my external hard drive’s cords may not have made the trip with the rest of the hardware, and since arriving back in my hometown, I have yet to decide where–exactly–do you put luggage & the jet lagged owner when there’s been next to no notice on either side?

I am a techie–not full-on geek, but I love my machines…especially my PC. Right now I’m borrowing my sister’s laptop in absence of a definitive resolution for where all the parts of my computer are, and where I can put them once assembled. Not having my baby set up makes me feel a great deal more rootless than realizing I pulled off a 1,000mi move with a carry-on, personal item, and 1 piece of checked luggage.

However, there was one incredible bright spot in the sea of uncertainty: I have my first review. One of the readers of After Midnight for the Kindle liked what she read, and liked what she read so much that she submitted her opinion for all the web to see. Reading what the reviewer thought of a story I loved and labored over for so long has made every bit of the hassle over Labor Day Weekend fade; indeed, it probably made my month.

In addition, I’ve decided I’m going to try my best to have a manuscript ready for submission to RWA’s Golden Heart, and I’ve sent a request to join GoodReads author’s program. It will be a very busy month as I re-accquaint myself with the city, tackle lodgings, and try to have the manuscript ready along with new content for GoodReads, but somehow, I know I’ll manage it.

I also set a very ambitious 5 year goal for myself—which I’m keeping quiet for right now. The good news is that in order to fulfill said goal, I’m going to be crafting new stories, new characters, new takes on the wonderful road to Happily Ever After (HEA) that romances are known for, and I hope you’ll be along for the journey.

 

 

